Monday, May 14, 2007

Mars Bars - Now With Free Cow Sick!



BBC NEWS | Business | Mars starts using animal products in Mars bars

Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars bars and Twix, will no longer be suitable for vegetarians.

Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make its chocolate products.

See Hemp Chocolate for sustainably made, ethical, healthy, sugar free chocolate.

See also Mc Mars Bar - Glasgow Vegetarian Restaurant launches Vegan Mars Bar Dessert - Mono / Stereo / The 78

See also Daily Mail - This is London - Food Production Daily - The Guardian

2 comments:

Asia! said...

The decision has been reversed. Yum! :)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/6673549.stm

Tony - FoodsForLife said...

Glasgow Bar saves National Vegetarian Week Celebrations with Vegan Mars Bar

There was devastating news for many vegetarians just a week before National Vegetarian Week as Mars announced that Mars Bars would no longer be vegetarian due to adding an extract from calf’s stomachs to the list of ingredients.

A Glasgow publican has raced to the rescue and saved the vegetarian day by ensuring a stock of delicious dairy free Vegan hazelnut Mars Bars and adding a dairy free Mars Bar Ice cream dessert to his menu. Mediterranean
Craig Tannock from vegetarian venues Mono and The 78 is behind a number of Glasgow’s best vegan and vegetarian bars, pubs, restaurants, cafes and vegan fine dining, eating out and drinking experiences. He says “To be honest this whole media farce about Mars bars was a blessing in disguise. It has highlighted the dilemma that vegetarians face with milk consumption.”

Apparently more calves lose their lives to milk production than they to rennet manufacturing. The only truly cruelty free way is a vegan way. Just avoiding cheese making by products such as rennet won’t save the calves, going 100% dairy free is the logical ethical choice.

“You won’t be alone if you adopt a vegan lifestyle,” says Tannock. “numbers of Vegans have risen dramatically this year and there are now many celebrity Vegans.”
The organisers of The Bristol Vegan Fayre (the largest of it’s kind in the world) predict that the number of Vegans will double this year. Mars have probably unwittingly made that prophesy more feasible than ever.

During National Vegetarian Week, Glasgow Bars, Mono & The 78 will be serving delicious dairy free Vegan hazelnut Mars Bars and adding an orgasmic dairy free Mars Bar Ice cream dessert flambéed in your favourite malt whisky on the menu.

It’s easy to find vegan and vegetarian Chinese food, Indian food, Thai food and Italian food in restaurants – even in Glasgow – Mono and The 78 aim higher. “We try to always have a traditional but contemporary Scottish feel to our menu and the best vegan beer to compliment the food. We aim to avoid fast food, we believe food should be savoured and appreciated in a relaxed environment” says Tannock

Editor’s Notes

Mono. 12 King's Court, King Street, Glasgow, G1 5RB Tel: 0141 553 2400.

The 78 10-14 Kelvinhaugh Street, Glasgow G3 8NU Tel : 0141 576 5018

Mono Vegetarian Restaurant Glasgow