Friday, February 17, 2006

More Reasons for Morrisons - Vegan Wine News - Features - Veggie wines would definitely get the thumbs-up from Sir Paul McCartney

Morrisons have joined Coop in taking the step to clearly label which of their wines are pure enough for people on vegan diets.

Vegetarians - and vegans, in particular - are concerned about some of the substances used as fining agents.

These include gelatine, isinglass, egg albumen, casein, chitosan and bentonite. Gelatine is made from animal protein, isinglass is made up of collagen fibres from the air bladders of fish; egg albumen is, of course, egg whites, casein is the primary protein in milk, and chitosan is derived from the shells of crustaceans.

Thankfully for veggies, the vast majority of wines these days are fined using bentonite (Fullers Earth) a mineral, so it shouldn't be too much of a problem.

Morrisons have taken the situation on board by highlighting in their price list whether every wine on their stocks is "safe" for veggies and vegans. A massive task, but all part of the service.

Vegetarian Wines

1 comment:

LovedayStar said...

This is fantastic news! I have been vegan for over a year and alcohol is the hardest thing to verify as vegan simply because vegan labelling is none-existent!

It's about time this was sorted out so this is very exciting!